Image
V22 Sujet | © Viennale

V'22 Poster subject

© VIENNALE | Rainer Dempf
© VIENNALE | Rainer Dempf

On this year’s Viennale poster we see a stately, roaring feline predator. Various artistic techniques are combined here: The brushwork emphasizes the curvaceous form and suggests agility and power, thus breathing life into it, while the print highlights the lively, iridescent color and refers to the pictorial symbolism of oriental art. It is a depiction from the early 19th century, which has traversed cultures and traditions and still has an extremely mysterious effect today. The original work was created by the greatest master of ukiyo-e art, Katsushika Hokusai, who transported historical and mythical subjects into the modern era by combining woodblock printing and painting, and also influenced 19th-century European artists – from Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec and Pierre Bonnard to Paul Gauguin.

Hokusai created a dynamic figure full of temperament, reminiscent of the movement that is also expressed in his masterpiece Under the Wave off Kanagawa from his famous Thirty-six Views of Mount Fuji series. A roaring lion that awakens from its torpor and heralds a festival in which everyone passionately participates – the Viennale, that season of cinema and soul-stirring activity.

Like the shishi (i.e. guardian lion) that is supposed to protect against misfortune, this feline predator is the perfect talisman for a festival of inspiration and encounter; it represents not only the courage of filmmaking presented in cinemas, but also the profound, cultural and social bridge-building that it strives for, and for which a festival history now spanning 60 years stands.

Even today, in 2022, the Viennale holds its ground in a difficult environment and in a challenging time for human civilization, aiming to be a reliable place for exchange and communication.

Related Content

Image
V22 Sujet | © Viennale

Das Sujet der Viennale 2022

© VIENNALE | Rainer Dempf
© VIENNALE | Rainer Dempf

Auf dem Plakat der diesjährigen Viennale sehen wir eine stattliche, brüllende Raubkatze. Diverse künstlerische Techniken sind hier kombiniert: Der Pinselstrich betont die kurvige Form und suggeriert Wendigkeit und Kraft, haucht ihr also gleichsam Leben ein, während der Druck die lebendige, schillernde Farbe unterstreicht und auf die Bildsymbolik orientalischer Kunst verweist. Es handelt sich um eine Darstellung aus dem frühen 19. Jahrhundert, die durch Kulturen und Traditionen gereist ist und noch heute äußerst geheimnisvoll wirkt. Ursprünglich stammt sie vom größten Meister der Ukiyo-e-Kunst, Katsushika Hokusai, der durch die Kombination von Holzschnitt und Malerei historische und mythische Sujets in die Moderne transportierte und auch die europäische Malerei des 19. Jahrhunderts beeinflusste, von Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec über Pierre Bonnard bis hin zu Paul Gauguin.

Hokusai hat eine dynamische Figur voller Temperament geschaffen, die an die Bewegtheit erinnert, die auch in seiner meisterhaften Darstellung „Die große Welle vor Kanagawa“ aus seiner berühmten Bildserie „36 Ansichten des Berges Fuji“ zum Ausdruck kommt. Ein brüllender Löwe, der aus seiner Trägheit erwacht und ein Festival einläutet, an dem alle voller Leidenschaft mitwirken: die Viennale, jene Jahreszeit des Kinos und seiner die Seele belebenden Aktivität.

Wie der Shishi (d.i. Wächterlöwe), der vor Unglück schützen soll, ist diese Raubkatze der perfekte Talisman für ein Festival der Inspiration und der Begegnung; er repräsentiert nicht nur die Beherztheit des in den Kinosälen präsentierten Filmschaffens, sondern auch den tiefgreifenden, kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Brückenbau, den es anstrebt, und für den eine mittlerweile 60-jährige Festivalgeschichte steht.

Auch heute, im Jahr 2022, behauptet die Viennale ihren Platz in einem schwierigen Umfeld und in einer schweren Zeit für die menschliche Zivilisation, und will verlässlicher Ort für Austausch und Verständigung sein.

Related Content